Mayek Chatpa Numit

Imphal, May 19 : To commemorate re-introduction of original Manipuri scripts, Meetei Erol Eyek Loina-shillon Apunba Lup (MEELAL), Kangleipak today observed Mayek Chatpa Nupi at Kangla Hall here today.

MEELAL has been observing May 18 every year as the Mayek Chatpa Numit to mark the publication of a white paper on the issue of scripts by the State Government on May 18, 2005 which led to introduction of Meetei Mayek in the school syllabus from class I to I in 2006 .

Honouring of selected individuals for their contribution to promotion of Meetei Mayak, distribution of prizes to the winners of essay writing competition in Meetei Mayek as well as in writing competition in ancient language, offering of floral tributes to former president of MEELAL late Chingsubam Akaba, book and cassette release were the main highlights of the function attended by MLA Ng Bijoy as chief guest, MLA RK Anand as guest of honour and president of MEELAL Ng Yumjao as functional president.

Speaking at the occasion, MLA Bijoy appreciated the efforts of MEELAL in reviving the original Manipuri scripts after years of suppression.

Expressing desire over keeping the translated of all the valuable books written in Bengali script in Meetei Mayek, MLA Bijoy noted that proper functioning of the language cell under the Government of Manipur is essential for development of Meetei Mayek.

He also pointed out that failure of including Meetei Mayek on the currency notes till today even after inclusion of Manipur language in the 8th Schedule of the Indian Constitution is due to lack of initiative and interest on our part.

MLA Anand said that every Manipuri should be proud of their own language, scripts and culture instead of using the scripts of other people and imitating their culture.

Only then the world would respect us, he added.

Apart from offering floral tributes to late Chingsubam Akaba, who was the founder president of MEELAL, prizes of the competition on writing 100 old words conducted on April 26 and the essay writing competition in Meetei Mayek were also presented to the winners at the occasion.

In the competition of writing old words, M Ramesh of Mayang Imphal Ph Mangalleima of Sekmaijin Mayai Leikai and Maibam Thoiba of Tentha won the Ist, 2nd and 3rd prizes respectively.

In the essay writing competition, Parinita Thoudam of Little Flower School, Md Aslam Khan of KM Blooming School and Yumnam Sylvia of Nirmalabas School respectively won the first, the second and the third prizes in the junior category of class I to V while in the senior category of class VI to X, N Kenedy, M Roshan and M Regiya, all students of KM Blooming School won the Ist, 2nd and 3rd prizes respectively.